Winter Handicap 2017/18

This years Winter Handicap will run over 5 races with the best 4 scores to count. We’ll aim to run on the second Wednesday in October, November, December, January & February with March as a spare in case one of the others has to be cancelled.

After the first race, handicaps will be adjusted and refined to 30s intervals.

October’s race saw Zoe Jameson romp home as winner with Liam Crosby (on a very generous start time) close behind. Fastest overall on the night was Wendy Chapman, running in a very impressive 19:53, fastest male was Rob Ayre (20:07). Full results are here Winter Handicap 2017-18 #1 Finish Positions

It’s second running of the 2017/18 handicap tomorrow night, revised handicaps are here: Winter Handicap 2017-18 – Start Times. We’ll be using the original course with the same start/finish point as last month. This time when you get to the top of the ramp by the Bungalow Cafe you turn RIGHT and head along the seafront until you get to Fat Buddha’s where you turn about and re-trace your steps.

Results from November race are here along with revised start times for December. First lady home was Emma Allen with Sarah McKenna and Iren Zochiou close behind, Wayne Smith led the chaps with Rob Allington and Jonny Swales filling the podium. Jen Deighton inflicted a rare defeat on Wendy Chapman to be fastest lady while Ray Christie produced a great run to record 18:16. If your time is BOLD then your forecast time has increased; if your time is in RED then your forecast time has decreased. See you all on 13 Dec.

Following our aborted race on 13 Dec we reconvened on 10 Jan for the third running of this winters handicap. 58 runners enjoyed surprisingly pleasant conditions, first home was Elizabeth Hayden followed home by Sarah Lake and Lynn Dickinson, first male over the line was John Tinn with Ray Christie and James Magog in 2nd & 3rd respectively. Fastest male again was Ray with a storming 18:09 while Wendy Chapman was again fastest women, dipping under 20 minutes to record 19:50. In the points championship, Sarah McKenna holds a slim lead over Johnny Swales with Lynn Dickinson. Top team is Team 216 (John Wilson, Jackie Wilson & Denis Hargrave) followed by the Three Unwise Men (Terry Topping, Rob Ayre & Andrew Bell). Full results here Winter Handicap 2017-18 #3 Finish Positions.

See you all on 14 Feb (as if you’ve got anywhere better to go that night), start times are here: Winter Handicap 2017-18 – Start Times